Which AWS Certification Should You Achieve?

Cloud computing has seen enormous growth over recent years. That being said, the popular cloud service providers are amazon web services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud, Salesforce, and IBM. Among them, Amazon Web services are known to dominate the cloud space. AWS has become a major source of revenue for amazon. According to Statista, AWS generated revenues of 45.37 billion US dollars. It clearly shows how much AWS is popularly used and trusted by the businesses, that it has become a major source of income for Amazon. 

There are several reasons contributing to the popularity. AWS was released by Amazon in the year 2006. Surprisingly, it is the first cloud platform ever. It received continuous feedback and suggestions from its users. Keeping its users at the core of the development, AWS managed to position itself in the consumer’s work. The other cloud services introduced themselves a few years later on. AWS is so much bigger among its competitors. It has multiple data centers spanning across the globe. Also, AWS offers free trials to businesses so that it can become easy for them to adopt it in their businesses. This is the reason professionals are taking AWS courses to step into the cloud computing domain. 

What is AWS?

Amazon web services(AWS) is an online platform that provides cloud computing solutions to businesses. The solutions are mostly used for the purpose of cost-effectiveness and growing business on different scales. This also promotes more agility and innovation for better technologies. Some of the features that make AWS the most dominant one is briefed below:

  • AWS has a very interesting feature of the multipurpose platform. It means that AWS supports databases of different origins, data lakes, analytics, the internet of things, machine learning. Compute storage, etc. so whatever your goal might be, AWS serves the purpose for all.
  • AWS is known to be one of the most secured platforms. It is backed by security systems with 230 security, compliance, governance services, and features. It is designed to protect banks across the world, military organizations, and a lot more. 
  • AWS is a platform that observes innovation at a much faster pace. It adopts the latest technological trends so that you can develop applications with ease. 
  • AWS is known to provide operational expertise for 14 years. This means that people can completely rely on AWS for their developments across the organizations.  

Which AWS certification should you pursue?

AWS provides several certifications based on the associate, foundational and professional level certifications. Out of those, the ones that you should definitely check out for your career are briefed below:

  •    AWS certified solutions architect – professional

The AWS certified solutions architect is for those professionals who have hands-on experience working on the AWS platform. The minimum experience required is two years.

The certification aims at training you to:

  • Design and deploy AWS applications that will be reliable, fault-tolerant, and highly available.
  • It will also help you build AWS applications customized as per the business needs and requirements.
  • Design and deploy enterprise-wide scalable operations on AWS.
  • Formation of cost control strategies and implementing them.

Skills and experiences required- scripting languages, familiarity with Linux and windows requirements, experience on AWS CLI, AWS APIs, the AWS billing console, AWS management console, AWS CloudFormation templates. Apart from these, the professional is required to have hands-on experience in developing cloud-based applications.

  •  AWS SysOps Administrator associate

The AWS Certified SysOps Administrator associate- examination is for those professionals who have at least one year of experience in a systems operations role. The experience must include work in management, deployment, and operations on AWS.  

The certification aims at training you to:

  • Design and management of reliable, fault-tolerant systems on AWS
  • Controlling the flow of data to and from AWS
  • Based on the client requirements, select the AWS services that best suit the needs
  • Estimating the costs and applying cost control mechanisms.

Skills and experience required- AWS tenets, experience on AWS API /SDK tools and AWS CLI, networking technologies, security concepts and controls, virtualization technology, and experience on auditing systems technology.  

  • AWS Developer Associate

The AWS certified developer associate is for those professionals who have a minimum experience of one year in developing applications in the AWS environment. This certification will help the developers to enhance their skill set by getting an industry-recognized credential.

The certification aims at training you to:

  •  Understand the core AWS services, uses, basics of AWS architecture
  • Become proficient in developing, deploying, and debugging cloud applications, based on AWS.

Skills and experience required- programming languages, developing cloud-based applications on AWS, AWS service APIs, AWS CLI, and SDKs, AWS shared responsibility model, application of CI/CD pipeline, ability to write secure codes, debugging codes and modules on AWS, writing codes for serverless applications, use of containers in the development process. 

Next Steps 

Since you have known the certifications that AWS provides, it is time that you should take the necessary steps to achieve it. Based on your career requirements, check out one of these certifications that will help you become proficient on the AWS platform. So, the AWS certifications require the professionals to have hands-on experience on some of its essential skills. Therefore, the professionals willing to be certified must get to learn all the skills. An interesting way is to enroll yourself in the certification training course. It will not only help you become exam-ready but will also prepare you to work as per the industry standards. Thereafter, you can take up the exam for AWS certifications.